Education System

School education (Primary and Secondary)

School education in Australia includes preschool, preparatory (or kindergarten), primary school, secondary school (or high school) and senior secondary school (or college).
Schooling lasts for 13 years, from preparatory to senior secondary. School is compulsory until at least the age of 16. Types of schools include government schools, non-government schools (including faith-based schools such as Catholic or Islamic schools) and schools based on educational philosophies such as Montessori and Steiner. All schools must be registered with the state or territory education department and are subject to government requirements in terms of infrastructure and teacher registration.

School education is similar across all of Australia with only minor variations between states and territories. School education (primary and secondary) is compulsory between the ages of six and sixteen (Year 1 to Year 9 or 10). School education is 13 years and divided into 3 Categories.

Primary school

· Runs for seven or eight years, starting at Kindergarten

· Preparatory through to Year 6 or 7.

Secondary school

· Runs for three or four years, from Years 7 to 10 or 8 to 10.

Senior secondary school

· Runs for two years, Years 11 and 12.


Tertiary Education

Tertiary education includes both higher education (including universities) and vocational education and training (VET).


· Vocational education and training (VET) enables students to gain qualifications for all types of employment, and specific skills to help them in the workplace. Qualifications range from certificate II to certificate IV, and diploma and advanced diploma.

Higher education

· Higher education courses can be taken to earn an advanced degree and continue your studies in Australia. There are three main types of higher education; Bachelor, Master and Doctoral Degree.